PDA

View Full Version : Overwhelmed, just a few quick questions

Pages : [1] 2

rypkr937
05-20-2015, 08:47 PM
New 2015 mustang that needs paint correction. Everyone says the paint is soft. I have no experience machine polishing but am going to attempt it on this car before I seal and wax it for the first time. Only somewhat related experience has been using meguires ultimate compound by hand on past vehicles.

First, I'm going to buy a griot GG6. I've read the tutorials but what I need guidance on is what pads to go with as well as what compound and/or polish to use considering soft paint, not terrible condition (but scratches/swirls from improper washing) and being a newbie.

Thanks,
Rory

Kamakaz1961
05-20-2015, 09:28 PM
I have a 2013 Mustang GT and its Black and I can tell you the paint is not soft. It is on par with the hard paints. The GG6 is a good DA. Get the 5.5" Pads

I would look into Menzerna FG400 for compound and Menzerna SF4000 for Polish. The Wolgang products are great too.

Get the Orange Pads (Lake Country Flats) for compounding the Whites for Polishing and the Red/Black or Golds for the LSP

Now IMO your new Mustang is probably hard paint not soft like most Japanese Branded vehicles.... I don't know but based on my ride I would assume yours would be similar.

But either way enjoy and nice ride

davey g-force
05-20-2015, 09:35 PM
^^ Good advice.

I will add though, that if you already have UC, you can just use that. It's still a good compound, and probably aggressive enough for what you need.

Eandras
05-20-2015, 09:38 PM
The 5" backing plate is a good investment. The pad listed above are good to have around but get at least 3 of each so you can change pad between panels. When you start I would avoid the compound and use a good polish with a white pad. A good over the counter polish is McGuiars Ultimate Polish. Good work time and does a decent job.

Remember technique is what will provide results

dlc95
05-20-2015, 10:39 PM