PDA

View Full Version : Newbie With Oversize Polish Job

Freewill
05-19-2015, 01:27 PM
Hello. I'm new to the art of paint polishing, but I've polished a lot of metal and some plastic parts in the past.

Last winter I ran my motor coach too close to some branches and picked up some 38 foot long Arizona pinstripes along one side. These aren't gouges or deep scratches - the clearcoat is not damaged except cosmetically.

I plan to pick up a Flex DA polisher along with some pads and chemicals. This will be a 2 or 3 step process.

It would be great to hear any advice or "gotchas" from folks with more experience before I start.

The coach looks like this.

Billy Baldone
05-19-2015, 02:24 PM
Take a pic of the actual damage. That will help us..... Help you

geekdout
05-19-2015, 02:42 PM
I thought most of the big RVs had vinyl wraps, or maybe its just the really nice ones like yours are painted.

This is a case where a test spot is crucial to determine the best combination of product and pad. I wouldn't want to do anymore then one step on that. But that also depends on your goal.

Freewill
05-19-2015, 05:43 PM
Thanks for the replies. This photo is a few inches of the damage. You can't really feel the scratches - at least not with my tool-hand fingers.

I'm pretty sure this coach has sprayed-on clearcoat. There is a small area that has been repaired and re-painted that appears to be plastic wrapped. That area is different from the rest of the coach, and looks like crap BTW.

Freewill
05-19-2015, 05:56 PM
I thought most of the big RVs had vinyl wraps, or maybe its just the really nice ones like yours are painted.

This is a case where a test spot is crucial to determine the best combination of product and pad. I wouldn't want to do anymore then one step on that. But that also depends on your goal.