PDA

View Full Version : Handle or no handle?

CC268
05-16-2015, 01:05 PM
Hey guys,

Just got my GG6, can't wait to try it out! I have never used a polisher before, but I have done my research and watched a million videos!

Anyways, I think I remember reading in Mike Phillip's book that he prefers no handle (although I could be mistaken). What is your guys' opinion?

rms64
05-16-2015, 01:19 PM
I left the handle on my and find it helps.

Try it both ways and see what's most comfortable for you and congrats!

DaveT435
05-16-2015, 01:33 PM
I prefer no handle. I would try it both ways and see which is more comfortable for you.

tw33k2514
05-16-2015, 01:41 PM
Feel like I have more control with no handle.

-note 4 powered by T-Mobile

Jbirk
It is all about personal preference... what works for Mike may not work for you, etc. What is important is that you keep the pad FLAT and work surgically clean with the right techniques, pads, products, and pressure.

I now that does not help, but mark the backing plate and put down enough pressure to slow but not stop it while keeping it flat.

swanicyouth
I use the handle - simply because I'm too lazy to take it off.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Souldetailer
05-16-2015, 01:47 PM
It is all about personal preference... what works for Mike may not work for you, etc. What is important is that you keep the pad FLAT and work surgically clean with the right techniques, pads, products, and pressure.

I now that does not help, but mark the backing plate and put down enough pressure to slow but not stop it while keeping it flat.

:iagree: Btw i removed the handle, I prefer it.

Roger T
05-16-2015, 02:04 PM
I have a Porter Cable 7424XP, a Meguiars MT300, and a Harbor Freight DA polishers. I removed the handles from all three because I can apply greater pressure straight onto the pad easier and is less tiring.

Try it with and without a handle and see what you think.

Hope this helps.

Roger T

Paul A.
05-16-2015, 03:22 PM