PDA

View Full Version : Can you compound or polish too much?

Pages : [1] 2

cstegs
05-12-2015, 12:34 PM
Ok, I've gone completely crazy. I've gone from going through car washes and applying turtle wax to buying a pc7424, only washing by two buckets, and applying premium waxes.

I've never used a da before, but I really really enjoy detailing my own cars. So much that I'll wax a vehicle every 3-4 weeks, and clean the interior every week.

So with my new purchase of a da I plan on using either p21s shine enhancer or Meg's ultimate polish. Do I need to train myself to only use these like twice a year? It could I use them every month?

Also what about Meg's ultimate compound? Use that only like once a year?

dcjredline
05-12-2015, 01:10 PM
You can literally polish the clear and paint right off your car. How aggressive you go will determine when that will happen. I dont see a need to polish ever week...try to keep the surface swirl free instead of continuing to polish out what you did to it. KWIM?

af90
05-12-2015, 01:28 PM
I don't see a need to compound a car more than once maybe twice if the dealer gets to it. But for most daily drivers that are taken care of appropriately and realistically a light polish every 12-18 months is all that's needed.

I caveat this with a daily driver that's washed every couple of weeks and goes through what an average car will see on the highways. I just polished our Jetta for the first time and it hadn't been compounded or polished since when we got it in August of 13. All I had to use was CarPro Reflect on it.

Legacykid
05-12-2015, 01:29 PM
You can literally polish the clear and paint right off your car. How aggressive you go will determine when that will happen. I dont see a need to polish ever week...try to keep the surface swirl free instead of continuing to polish out what you did to it. KWIM?

Simple and to the point^^

rlmccarty2000
05-12-2015, 02:22 PM