PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to cause steam from a pad?

Pages : [1] 2

pacman
05-10-2015, 03:58 PM
This is my first attempt at polishing with a machine.

I've been using the Tangerine flat light cutting pad with Sonax Perfect Finish on a PC at speed 6 on my roof and noticed after a while a ton of dust but what looked like steam coming from the pad which I thought was horribly weird. I also think I wrecked the pad as now there is a large divot in the center of the pad. I cleaned it with some pad cleaner but it looks like it might still be there. The pad is still drying though so I'll find out tomorrow.

I have since bumped the speed down to 5 and it seems to not "steam" anymore.

Here is a pic of my roof with the dust. Is there a way to prevent this from happening? I find the cleanup of this dust takes longer than to actually polish.

http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h99/CAN97SH/20150510_102837_zpsdtvs01bv.jpg

swanicyouth
05-10-2015, 04:33 PM
This is what's called "user error". Causes:

1. To much polish (Polish is a language or a way to describe a person or group of people who come from Poland).

2. Too much downward pressure.

3. Speed too high (like 6).

4. Very high ambient temps.

5. High panels temps.

6. Lack of washer on the BP.

7. Any combo of 1 to 6.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DaveT435
05-10-2015, 04:36 PM
I would say it was smoke not steam. Sounds like you burned up the pad. I would say a combination of pad being loaded up with product and too much speed. Maybe a little lower speed. Make sure you are cleaning the pad on the fly and switching to a new pad as needed.

pacman
05-10-2015, 08:26 PM
Thanks guys, obviously I'm still learning.

It's not the temps as Its only around 50 here still.