PDA

View Full Version : Should I compound?

Akash_Hegde
05-10-2015, 03:18 PM
I will be detailing my e46 soon and im trying to see if I need to use something like meguiars compound on my paint or will polish be enough to get my swirl marks out. The car was always garaged by the previous owner and the paint looks pretty good other than the swirl marks. I also have some weird water spots with didn't come out with washing and drying.
Sorry if this is a dumb question, im very new to detailing my own car.

Note, these are pics of the hood.
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-HfuA6R44-38/VU-6y28SJRI/AAAAAAAALHE/g-rKSNLp7QA/w667-h889-no/IMG_20150510_160745.jpg
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-v2MN5MZPcx0/VU-7KimSrWI/AAAAAAAALH0/YH1jb-cykn0/w1185-h889-no/IMG_20150510_160903.jpg
https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-eZU3lO4Dh1k/VU-7LalT5fI/AAAAAAAALIA/B-nC4w6VQxc/w1185-h889-no/IMG_20150510_160907.jpg

trekkeruss
05-10-2015, 03:31 PM
The way to determine what products you need to use is to do a test spot, starting with the least aggressive polish. If that removes the swirls, you've successfully corrected the paint while removing as little of the clear coat as possible. If not, then more to a more aggressive polish or compound.

People say BMW's (and German cars in general) have hard paint ...I've neevr worked on one ... maybe you do need to compound. But it's still best to try a polish first.

Kamakaz1961
05-10-2015, 03:38 PM
IMO Based on the pics you will need to compound and then polish. BMW is hard paint and the pics show more than just minor swirls IMO. I would look into Menzerna FG400 and SF4000 or any of the Wolfgang polishes or Megs 105/205 would be good too.

Do a test spot 1st, however, IMO it looks like you need a 2-Step.

Akash_Hegde
05-10-2015, 03:59 PM
Alright thanks a lot guys! Ill make a test spot and see what I need.

Paul A.
05-10-2015, 04:26 PM