PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about buying Flex 3401

Pages : [1] 2

J.Kempster
05-07-2015, 10:05 PM
Hi Fellow Geeks,

I am considering purchasing a Flex 3401 or PE14-2. I currently have the GG6 and GG3. I am a guy who maintains his own two cars but lately a few family members/friends have asked for details.

Everyone in my family owns a full size pickup or SUV. I want to get these upcoming vehicles compounded and polished quickly.

I don't have the money for both tools so that is why it has taken a long time of reflection and countless hours of youtube/autogeek and reading on the forum here. Yet, I still cannot decide.

I have very little experience with a rotary but feel I could pick it up and I would be respectful of the machine and process to not burn the paint.

I am also buying Flex because of the build quality reputation. I won't be using this everyday, just on weekends but not every weekend. I want a tool to last me until I can give it to my son when I buy him his first car.

So onto the questions...
Is the PE14-2 too much for the beginner? Can a beginner polish to a swirl free high gloss with just a PE14-2?

If I purchase the 3401, should I sell the GG6? Can the 3401 remove 1500 grit wet sanding? (Wife ran into wooden barrier at this years KY derby)

When the "No Exclusions" sale runs, can I use it on the Flex machine's?

Thanks in advances for taking the time to read and comment?

VISITOR
05-07-2015, 10:14 PM
the flex 3401 is plenty capable (versatile too with the backing plate system) and probably all you're going to need. it's like the best of both worlds...

af90
05-07-2015, 10:44 PM
I would keep the GG6, you can always make it a more powerful 3" polisher. Or find uses for it when the Flex isn't needed. It's a great tool with a bit of a learning curve but nothing that is too difficult. Plus in the end it's fun using new things to enjoy a hobby. Having a variable speed trigger is phenomenal. Go with the Lake Country interchangeable backing plate kit.