PDA

View Full Version : Pollen in the air and waxing

CaPpedDoG
04-20-2015, 12:03 PM
I just bought my first nice car, a black '07 Mustang GT. Total newbie to detailing but slowly learning. I purchased the Turtle Wax Black Box but am going to return it and buy separate products (NXT wax, etc.) Right now here in Victoria BC, there is a ton of pollen in the air. Should I wait till pollen season is over before waxing? I'll be doing it outside (no garage :() Also, I bought Meguiar's Smooth Surface Clay Kit... should I also wait to clay? Cheers

rlmccarty2000
04-20-2015, 12:23 PM
Just wash the pollen off with a good shampoo. Do not wipe the pollen off with a towel. Pollen is actually "sharp" and will scratch your car.

bwatereagleman
04-20-2015, 12:25 PM
In my opinion there are 2 answers to your question.

The first answer is you should go ahead and clay and wax your vehicle especially during pollen season. The reason is you get a good sacrificial barrier between the air born particles and your paint's clear coat. This barrier will make a bit easier to remove the pollen with a proper wash.

The second answer is you can wait if you don't like the idea of needing to reapply in a month or two when the pollen is not as heavy. Undoubtedly, pollen will collect on your vehicle's surface and it may look like you have not done a thing to your priceless jewel. So, if you not motivated to doing this twice, then you might hold off.

There are a couple of times during the year that I make sure that I have a good coat of wax or sealant on my vehicles. Pollen season is one of those times. I may not try to work as hard to get a swirl free finish during pollen season, but I do make sure that the pollen cannot stick as easily to my vehicle's paint. If you are thinking about waxing now, make sure your paint is contaminant free by using the clay bar. That will help your waxes and sealants bond better with the clear coat.

Clear as mud?

CaPpedDoG
04-20-2015, 12:32 PM