PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Setup what am I missing or need to replace?

Pages : [1] 2

Withoutink
04-06-2015, 08:12 PM
Hi All,

Newbie here from NE Mountains of GA. I never really thoroughly detailed a car before. I've 'washed & waxed", but that is about it... I am looking to start improving my game for a few reasons..

I am looking at selling my Jeep Wrangler & Harley. I am a firm believer in that making everything shine always helps sell things. The Jeep is a 2003 and hasn't been waxed in probably 2 years. The Harley was waxed last year, but has been sitting in my garage and could use some love. I understand the Jeep will need to be washed thoroughly, clay bared, polished, sealed and waxed. The Harley will probably require the same level of treatment.

After I sell my current vehicles, I will be purchasing a 2016 VW GTI Autobahn, and I want to keep her nice and clean. A pretty car deserves a great shine. The last time I really took care of a car on a monthly basis, was with the last GTI I owned, about 13 years ago.... I will ask the dealer NOT to detail my car, as I am sure they won't take great pride in the detail, nor will whoever they may farm the work out to.... I'm not sure what we will need to do with the car, I suspect the paint/clearcoat will need time to cure, then a nice wash, clay bar, polish, seal and wax... Wish I had $$$ for some kind of coating I have read about, but I do not think it's in the budget.

My wife always goes through the (brushless) car washes with her Honda, and it drives me crazy. I think it's a waste of money, plus I know it's not great for the finish. This will essentially need the same treatment as the Jeep. I don't think we ever waxed the CRV, just whatever crap they spray on it at the brushless place.

My Mission:

To find a set of solid products, that will achieve nice repeatable & sustainable results, as economically as I can. Without being penny wise and pound foolish.

Ok... so what I currently own....