PDA

View Full Version : double checking my process

alteredzx
03-31-2015, 02:08 AM
I am going to be detailing my buddies car for him, a light blue Honda S2000. I am NOT a pro. I do this for fun. I just wanna make sure I am not missing a step or going to screw it up. lol! I dont think the car has ever been detailed before. Just a normal wash and wax. Its been in his garage for 6-7 years. I will describe everything I can the best I can.

I am here to learn and build on what I already know. So any tips, tricks etc... is greatly appreciated.

thank you!!

steps:
Wash and dry - Meguiars gold class shampoo
Iron X - body and wheels
Wash and dry
Clay bar - Meguiars clay bar kit
wash and dry
Meguairs ultimate compound using the Drill attachment DA - red pad
Meguairs ultimate polish using the drill attachment DA - yellow pad
Meguairs ultimate liquid wax - black pad

For the interior I have the following
Chemical Guys leather cleaner and conditioner
Chemical Guys nonsense apc
Chemical Guys lightening fast carpet cleaner using drill attachment - yellow scrub brush
Chemical Guys fabric cleaner

For the tires I have
Chemical Guys tire and trim gel

For the engine
I have a McCulloch MC-1275 steam cleaner
Chemical Guys black on black

This is not his car. Just using it as a reference.
http://i1088.photobucket.com/albums/i324/alteredzx/Blue_S2000_700px_zpsapbpg4ob.jpg (http://s1088.photobucket.com/user/alteredzx/media/Blue_S2000_700px_zpsapbpg4ob.jpg.html)

trekkeruss
03-31-2015, 02:32 AM
I personally do not wash and dry after claying. Many times I wash, rinse, and use car wash soap as a lube. Then I rinse again, dry and then polish.

The one step you're missing is doing a test spot. You may not need to use compound; maybe the paint only needs polish. A test spot will tell you that.

alteredzx
03-31-2015, 03:16 AM
ah yes. the test spot. I will add that to my list. Thank you for the heads up on that.

so I could take out the wash after using the clay bar. copy that.

Mike Phillips