PDA

View Full Version : Potential Detailing Plan

Ryche
03-20-2015, 03:04 PM
I think I've finally figured out what I want to do to my car (Liquid Silver 2014 Mazda S Touring) and my wife's (Blue 2003 Chevy Cavalier) before summer kicks in. As a noob, I've been looking for products that are fairly easy to use, won't kill my wallet but will still leave a respectable look on the cars. Here's what I've finally come up with (though there are a few questions I'm still trying to figure out.

Wash (Meguiars Deep Crystal Wash or maybe Gold Class Wash)
Microfiber Dry
Clay Bar (with Meguiars UQD as Lubricant, including windshield)
Klasse AIO (body + windshield and other glass)
Klasse SG (body of car, glass other than windshield)
Topper Wax (Poorboy's Natty's Paste or Meguiars #26)
Windshield Hydrophobic Sealant - (Aquapel? RainX?)

The three questions I have remaining:
1) Am I missing anything, or is the above overkill?
2) Topper Wax - Both the Meguiar's and Poorboy's look to be easy on/easy off, and should do what I want. Is there an advantage to one over the other?
3) Windshield Hydrophobic Sealant - Are there advantages to going with a "name" as opposed to an OTC product like RainX?

Thanks for any thoughts/advice!

Zelfiris
03-20-2015, 03:23 PM
Rain-x works but doesn't last too long. Great value for its money. I have not heard aquapel used in a couple of years, last time I remember was someone mentioning it can cause cancer (not confirmed, please don't quote me).

What about tire dressing? or metal polish for the exhaust tips? or trim dressing for the molding/plastic parts?

ryandamartini
03-20-2015, 03:28 PM
If you're new, I would stay away from Klasse. I love their product but it isn't known to be the easiest to apply.

I would look at Duragloss 105 w. bonding agent as a much easier to apply option.

Ryche
03-21-2015, 08:54 AM
Zel - For tires I've got Meguiar's Hot Shine spray. The way I use it is spray on, then wipe with a microfiber to give it a smooth finish.