PDA

View Full Version : Questions about polishing...

Pages : [1] 2

beemergirl
08-25-2007, 07:08 PM
Hey everyone...I have some questions about polishing. First off, I've read most of the topics on polishing & I appreciate everyone's knowledge. I'm new to polishing & I recently purchased the UDM along w/ Menzerna SIP and 106ff polishes. I was excited to get started, but I'm discouraged now because 2 people I've recently talked to think I'm crazy for polishing my car. I have a BMW Z4 and the one person told me that I would take the clearcoat and paint right off the car if I'm not careful, especially around all the curves on that car. The other person told me that there is no need to polish my car and I might cause more damage than good. My basic question is that if you polish a car just once a year, doesn't it take off just a little of the clearcoat? Does this mean over a short period of time, you will reach the paint layer?? I'm confused. I was really looking forward to this, but I'm kinda lost now. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks so much...I've learned so much from this forum. By the way, I bought CCS 6.5" pads w/my machine...the blue, gray and white. Thanks again.

A1monky
08-25-2007, 08:01 PM