PDA

View Full Version : Professional Help Please !

Pages : [1] 2

Brandin10
02-25-2015, 10:08 PM
I need an opinion from a professional detailer or someone who may know about the issue I am dealing with. I have a 2014 Corvette and I wanted to pull the cover off and give it a wash, clay, and wax to have it ready for spring.

I washed the car with Chemical guys citrus wash & gloss. I have never clayed before so this is my first attempt. I decided to use the Nanoskin auto scrub wash mitt in place of traditional clay. I used plenty of clay lubricant and gave it a gentle wipe down on my drivers side door. I wanted to try one panel first to see how it turned out.

After the claying was complete I wiped it down to dry the surface for wax application. But after inspection I noticed blotchy specs all over the door. Please see the attached pictures.

Scott@IncrediblyDetailed
02-25-2015, 10:14 PM
That's marring from the clay/clay towel product.

You'll have to polish in order to remove it. It's almost unavoidable depending on the level of contamination and type of paint you're working on.

https://scontent-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/t31.0-8/10991641_560011340768331_2530027169127748638_o.jpg

BMW Jet Black Paint. Look at the A Pillar and Side Mirror.

All was removed after polishing.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/t31.0-8/10997477_560011360768329_8000350268993215549_o.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/t31.0-8/10658800_560011354101663_8682974963621507799_o.jpg

Final Product:

https://scontent-atl.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpf1/t31.0-8/11004565_560008130768652_6543123376170157052_o.jpg

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/t31.0-8/10989254_560008407435291_5733904212946080131_o.jpg

Brandin10
02-25-2015, 10:32 PM
Does this happen with all paint after claying? I was afraid I would have to polish. I have never done it before and I'm a little nervous.

Setec Astronomy
02-25-2015, 10:36 PM