PDA

View Full Version : Wheel/Tire Cleaner with least environmental concern

QuinGold
02-15-2015, 06:02 PM
Hi all, I'm a newbie researching products to clean my Miata. I live in a pine forest, and am concerned about washing my car and letting the run-off flow into the natural environment outside my garage.

As a artist/printmaker, the last few years has seen a whole new set of non-toxic printmaking supplies (for example, soy-based inks replacing oil-based ink, ferric chloride to replace acid for etching, and soy-based cleaners). While you wouldn't eat any of this stuff, and you still have to dispose of it properly and wear gloves, it does mean a better, safer way to work.

I'd like to approach detailing my car in the same way: after understanding the role of each product, finding the specific ones that are the least damaging to the environment - particularly important if they are going to be hosed down and washed down into the arroyo outside our garage. I'm also concerned about breathing nasty chemicals; no point cleaning up the art studio only to kill myself cleaning the car…!

Has anyone got ideas, articles or products they could share?

Right now I need a product to clean the wheels/tires and it seems you have to hose these products away. True? Or could I wipe them off with blue shop cloths and dispose of them in the trash?

The greenest one seems to be the Wolfgang Tire & Wheel Cleaner. True?
Wolfgang Tire & Wheel Cleaner is formulated for versatility, this cleaner is as equally gentle and effective on wheels as on tires! (http://www.autogeek.net/wg4600.html)

How does the Meg. Hot Rims cleaner and DP Wheel and Tire Cleaner compare to this Wolfgang product for toxicity?

Also, I have Soy Response, a heavy-duty degreaser. Would this be okay to use on wheels and tires? It says it "may harm some rubber".
"Formulated with natural, biodegradable, organic soy-based solvents, surfactants and emulsifiers."