PDA

View Full Version : Pinnacle XMT 3-pack - which products?

CaveRacing
01-26-2015, 12:21 PM
Hi Everyone,

So I'm thinking of ordering the Pinnacle XMT 3-pack. I was also considering Meguiars UC and UP, but I'm pretty sure I'll stick with the XMT products. I'd like to have XMT 360 on hand for a good AIO.

So, if I do the 3-pack, which 3 do I get? I feel like the 360 is a yes because of its versatility. It apears, based on some of my readings, that 360 can be used to finish one of the more agressive swirl removers. So I could go with #4, #3, and 360. Can xmt 360 finish what #3 starts or do I need #2? If that's the case, do I just go with #4, #2, and 360? Although, I have read that #2 is a redundant product between #3 and #1/360.

Thoughts? Am I trying to accomplish too much with just the 3-pack? Am I actually better off with Meguiars Ultimate Compound and Ultimate Polish? I know that pad choice can help determine the aggressiveness of these, and I have mutliple pads. I am not a pro nor am I detailing a bunch of vehicles. It is just me and some friends doing some cleanup, correction, and having a good time while getting excellent results on our daily drivers.

Any help, comments, and suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!!

damaged442
01-26-2015, 03:31 PM
With so many choices out there, it was hard to make a decision. I picked up the XMT line when I got my PC.

I guess it depends most on what paint you are going to use it on. #4 is compound. Rough stuff for bad paint. If you don't have heavily oxidized paint, I would not go this route. You might most likely do more harm than good. I used it on my 442 to see what it could do with an orange 5.5" LC CCS. I followed it with #3, #1, on a white 5.5" LC CCS, then Collinite 845.

Wish I got before/after pics. Lets just say the paint had absolutely no shine when I started and it reflects a bit better now. ;)

Using a PC and a white 5.5" LC CCS, I experimented with #3, #1 and 360 on my Crystal Black Pearl 2009 Acura TSX.