PDA

View Full Version : Polisher Decision

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

herrubi
01-23-2015, 10:25 AM
Good morning all, first post here. I'm trying to decide which polisher to buy. I'm not a professional detailer but an avid car care enthusiast. I have used a Sears orbital polisher for 25 years and am now ready to upgrade to something more professional. My vehicles do not need much correction, I simply want them to look the best they can. I'm considering the Meguires DA polisher, but wondering if I should just spend the money and get the Flex. I have tried a Porter Cable and did not like the amount of vibration it had. I have a black suburban so it does have a lot of surface area to maintain. Please offer your opinions, thank you.

Kamakaz1961
01-23-2015, 10:33 AM
IMO Get the Flex 3401. Simply put it's the BEST DA out there PERIOD!!! It is also the closest to being a rotary like you are used to. ALL other DA's are free floating spin like the PC or Megs or Rupes or whatever brand....PERIOD!!

I have a PC7424XP and it still serves a purpose for me but the workhorse is the Flex 3401.

You are going to get a lot of suggestions. IMO, my suggestion will be the best!

As to everyone else that disagrees...OK you have your opinion I have mine.

brettS4
01-23-2015, 10:39 AM
I doubt anyone is going to disagree that the Flex is a great polisher. And if you have the money, I'd say that's probably your best choice. I've never used one, so I can't comment on how smooth it is.

I used a PC7424 for 12 years and it did the job well enough. But it's loud and lacks serious power. I decided to step up to the Griot's GG6 this year, and it's looking really good. Twice the power as the old PC and slightly better ergonomics. It can be found right now for right around $100. Less than what I paid for the PC 12 years ago.

DaveT435
01-23-2015, 10:54 AM