PDA

View Full Version : 7424XP with flat pads

Pages : [1] 2

musclecar22
01-21-2015, 10:21 PM
Hi folks. Seeking a bit of guidance. I have a 7424XP and on the fence about buying a Flex 3401. I've searched the forums and best I can tell the main benefit is saving time. I am not a pro so not concerned about time.

I did just buy LC 5.5 flat pads from AG, haven't tried them, thinking this smaller pad will give the PC a little more power via less weight and correct "better". ?

Guess the question is, is the only reason to get a Flex to save time? Will each machine obtain the same results just at different times? Or will the Flex correct very poor finishes that cannot be fixed by the PC?

Thanks for any help. Appreciate you guys.

Setec Astronomy
01-21-2015, 10:26 PM
It's a little more complicated than that. The Flex has a variable speed trigger, so it's a little easier turning it on and off, plus you can feather it for various reasons. The forced rotation allows you to use the edge of the pad when safe and appropriate to get into areas that are difficult to correct with a PC.

So the ergonomics (although I don't think that's really the right word) of the Flex are much different.

cartman1
01-21-2015, 10:27 PM
The flex is way more powerful than the PC so not only will you save time, you will also get better results.

allenk4
01-22-2015, 12:00 AM
The flex is way more powerful than the PC so not only will you save time, you will also get better results.

"Better" in what way?

With the new DAMF system from Meguiar's & M100 or D300; you should be able to get out any defect that the FLEX 3401 can remove

It will just take longer

Some actually prefer the PC over the FLEX for finish polishing

I own both machines

cartman1
01-22-2015, 12:27 AM
I don't own the flex, I only have the pc7424. My experience comes from reading a lot of threads and watching videos.