PDA

View Full Version : Help a rookie out with soft paint

Pages : [1] 2

50spence
01-20-2015, 11:45 PM
I have a 2011 Subaru Forester with ridiculously soft paint. I am an admitted noob when it comes to auto detailing so this soft paint is currently killing me. I've kept good care of it, but eventually wanted to polish out the fine swirls that developed over the last few years.

I tried using XMT360 with a green LCS pad with my PC and had a lot of trouble getting the paint to come out clean and not leaving streaks and marring behind it. I watched every single YouTube video I could find for months before tackling this because I knew this paint was going to be hard to work with, so I felt fairly confident in my technique, but like I said I'm fairly new to detailing on this level and I'm second guessing myself.

I'm thinking about trying again with something like SF4500 and a black pad, but I wanted to hear what you guys might recommend. Should I try again with the XMT360 and maybe work on my technique? I also didn't want to buy a whole quart of the SF4500 if I went that route since this is the only car I have. It'd take me forever to go through that much product. Is there a smaller bottle available?

Why can't my car be as easy to work on as my wife's Elantra? That thing is a piece of cake to polish/wax!

THANKS!

fly07sti
01-21-2015, 12:14 AM
How much product are you using? What speed? How are you working it? Like how many passes, pressure, etc?
IME SF4000 works great on subaru paint generally to remove flaws and finish. Can use a polishing pad to cut defects and usually finishes great.

allenk4
01-21-2015, 12:26 AM
1st question is...what does the marring look like?

You mention "streaks"....tell is more

Do you think the pad is causing it or the towels?

The green CCS pad is so similar to the black, I don't think you would be able to tell the difference

builthatch
01-21-2015, 12:32 AM