PDA

View Full Version : clay bar or prep towel?

Pages : [1] 2

Navish360
01-19-2015, 11:50 PM
Hello Autogeek Community!

I'm fairly new to detailing cars, and own a silver 2003 e320 and would like some help with getting the right steps down.

Questions

1. Whats better clay bar or the prep towel? (I've used a chemical guys clay bar once)

2.What should be done after a car wash should it be polishing, waxing etc???

3. I'm tired of having silver rims and seeing brake dust everywhere in the front of the rim within couple days of washing.... Anyway to reduce this or a easier way to clean it?

Sorry for all the questions, but I trust this community when it comes to answering stuff correctly and efficiently.

Goin Rogue
01-20-2015, 12:30 AM
Hello Autogeek Community!

I'm fairly new to detailing cars, and own a silver 2003 e320 and would like some help with getting the right steps down.

Questions

1. Whats better clay bar or the prep towel? (I've used a chemical guys clay bar once)

2.What should be done after a car wash should it be polishing, waxing etc???

3. I'm tired of having silver rims and seeing brake dust everywhere in the front of the rim within couple days of washing.... Anyway to reduce this or a easier way to clean it?

Sorry for all the questions, but I trust this community when it comes to answering stuff correctly and efficiently.

1) I just tried the Nanoskin wash mitt the other day and it was SO fast and easy. I doubt I'll use a traditional clay bar again. I also have a clay towel.

2) Many options here. Wax, sealant, polish, 2step, 3step, coating, etc... Depends on what you want to achieve.

3) You can coat them or use a sealant like Hydro2. Hydro2 is EASY to use.

HateSwirls
01-20-2015, 06:41 AM
I've used clay for many years but bought a prep towel here,I'll never go back to a clay bar.
Being I have a full time detail shop I try to find products that's good and fast.
Using my prep towel cut my time in half.

expdetailing
01-20-2015, 07:12 AM