PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Interior Pillar Trim Fabric

Shunsuke
01-14-2015, 02:07 PM
I picked up a Lexus RX recently and noticed the interior (beige) pillar trim and back cargo area are looking dirty. What would be recommended to clean this upholstery? It looks pretty thin and I don't want to be too aggressive and damage the material. In fact, instead of be a multi layer fabric, it almost seems like a felt or velour.

Many thanks in advance!

HUMP DIESEL
01-14-2015, 03:13 PM
I've found a microfiber towel with a spritz of upholstery cleaner will do the trick, just lightly wipe.

You could also try a foaming cleaner.

HUMP

conman1395
01-14-2015, 03:30 PM
Do some reading and video watching! That stuff if very thin and very easy to damage. Very very easy to damage.

Shunsuke
01-14-2015, 03:40 PM
@conman1395 - Yes, I'm very hesitant to get aggressive.

Like Hump suggested, a post I read somewhere suggested spraying Folex on a cloth and wiping it down. But, I have no experience with the product.

conman1395
01-14-2015, 04:04 PM
@conman1395 - Yes, I'm very hesitant to get aggressive.

Like Hump suggested, a post I read somewhere suggested spraying Folex on a cloth and wiping it down. But, I have no experience with the product.
My girlfriend has this annoying idea that doing her eye makeup in my car is easier than standing in front of a mirror. So I am frequently cleaning that material because it gets dirty when she reaches for the visor mirror. I use Folex on a microfiber towel and it works very well. You can get a gallon at Lowe's pretty cheap. It's great for the car and house.

allenk4
01-14-2015, 04:06 PM
Pictures please

wdmaccord
01-14-2015, 05:36 PM
I'd recommend a vent brush and Folex or CG Lightning Fast. After you clean with the brush then dab with a MF. Then I recommend dabbing with some filtered water on a MF multiple times to "rinse" and try and remove as much cleaning residue as possible.