PDA

View Full Version : Hopefully someone learns from my mistake!

Cvjeticanin
01-13-2015, 11:08 AM
Hey Guys! I just wanted to post up some pics & videos of my horrible experience with 3M Clear Bra removal process. I didn't think that I was going to have everything go wrong but that's exactly what happened.

First, I'm not a professional detailer but I do love everything about it and I have done my fair share of research. I'm trying my best to self teach myself and for now I have only done family vehicles with great results (not including this project of course). :bash:

Here's a pic of the old 3M Clear Bra (has been on the vehicle for 10 or so years)
You can see how bad it looked and needed to be removed for sure!

Here is a picture of my first BIG MISTAKE:
After using the steamer on the hood, fender, & mirrors to remove the Clear Bra with no problem I got a little to comfortable and this is what happened on the bumper!
I started removing it a little bit quicker without enough heat from the steamer and the Clear Coat just peeled right up with it!

LESSON LEARNED:
Take your time while removing any film or adhesive from paint!

I'm still not sure if maybe the Clear Coat under the Bra might have been weakened from years of adhesive over it and no waxes or sealents to protect it.

Here is my SECOND BIG MISTAKE!

After removing the Bra I noticed a line in the paint where it was installed. I couldn't feel the line with my nail but it was very noticable and it definately wasn't a razor cut line.
Well, I tried to remove it thinking it was only in the clear coat. Without measuring the paint thickness(I didn't have the tool to do this) I shouldn't have attempted to remove it at all.