PDA

View Full Version : Engine detailing

Pages : [1] 2

frankprozzoly
12-30-2014, 09:11 AM
I've read alot about this subject. I'm still apprehensive about it. I hosed my 13 accord engine once. It was fine. I haven't done it yet on my 14. Starting from scratch I've been able to keep things pretty clean. But there's still stuff that takes more than just wiping down.

Mike has a video of an old muscle car that he foams the engine bay. But all of the tiny electrical connections on newer engines scare me.

Should I use saran wrap and tape up every little electrical connection I can see or am I worrying too much. When I hosed down the 13 accord I covered the air intake and alternater. That's it

Matt@Revive
12-30-2014, 09:22 AM
as a tech i've seen how expensive an "engine detail" can get when electrical components get flooded. most of your engine components designed to deal with the elements (rain, snow, dirt...) but i still either cover electronics, or avoid spraying them directly with high pressure. just work slow and avoid large amounts of waterand you will have no issues.

Mike Phillips
12-30-2014, 09:42 AM
We cleaned the engine compartment on the Smokey and the Bandit Trans Am over the weekend and every 98% of the electrical components were taped off using Saran Wrap and Painter's Tape.

I'll try to post a few pictures today.

The real secret to safe engine detailing is controlling the water. That is don't flood the engine compartment with water and don't use high pressure water.

Here's what I use and what I show in my detailing boot camp classes, you can pick one up at any hardware store like Lowe's or Home Depot.

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/watermark.php?file=87315

After scrubbing whatever parts you're going to scrub, use the shower setting...

http://www.autogeekonline.net/gallery/watermark.php?file=87316