PDA

View Full Version : First attempt at polishing

Pages : [1] 2

wadebart
12-28-2014, 04:50 PM
I've received a Griot's Garage 6" random orbital polisher for Christmas and plan on doing my first "proper" paint polishing. Here's my plan:

1. Wash car down. Should I use a normal car shampoo or dawn dish detergent?

2. Use CarPro IronX

3. Polish with Scholl Concepts S3 Gold

4. Finishing polish with Scholl Concepts S40 Ultra-Finishing Polish.

5. Normal car wash with Chemical Guys - Mr. Pink Super Suds Car Wash Soap and Shampoo. Or should I use IronX again?

6. Finish up with Sonus ION Paint Coat?

Looking for input or anything I might be missing. I'm a newbie!

WillWashesCars
12-28-2014, 05:08 PM
What pads will you be using? Also what car/color? And no need to use Iron-X twice, but depending on the car you may need to still clay after Iron-X.

SameGuy
12-28-2014, 05:08 PM
As Will says, you may need to mechanically decontaminate after Iron-X. No need to wash or decontaminate again after polishing. Just apply your last step protection and admire the results of your work!

wadebart
12-28-2014, 05:52 PM
Lake Country orange polishing and red finishing pads.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

wadebart
12-28-2014, 05:54 PM
Car color is dark gray and about a year and a half old. Purchased new.

wadebart
12-28-2014, 05:55 PM
What soap should I use for the first step?

dsg03gt
12-28-2014, 05:57 PM
You can use the Mr Pink

Belair
12-28-2014, 10:31 PM
I would clay it after Iron X.

wdmaccord
12-28-2014, 10:37 PM
I would clay it after Iron X.

Agree, you should clay after IX. After your finishing polish, wipe down with 15% IPA mixture and put the sealant/coating on.

RobertJ34
12-28-2014, 10:52 PM
1- wash.
2-iron x
3-clay
4-polish
5-IPA wipedown as 'wdmaccord' stated above.
6- Coating or "LSP" (last step product)

Just incase, IPA is isopropyl alcohol (rubbing alcohol)
this article will help you incase not sure of the proper mix (water to IPA ratio)