PDA

View Full Version : Polishing Question

Pages : [1] 2

11Silverado
12-19-2014, 10:26 AM
Soon I'll be purchasing the Wolfgang swirl remover combo (total swirl remover and finishing glaze). Together, they come in 8 oz. bottles each. How many cars will I be able to do with an 8 oz. bottle? For reference, first I'll be working on an '09 Chevrolet Malibu and then a '11 Chevrolet Silverado quad cab with a painted bed cover. The paint isn't that bad on the truck, but there is a lot of truck to polish and I'm thinking 8 oz. of each would't be enough for both cars. I'm also looking at purchasing Menzerna super finish (SF4500). If I use the total swirl remover, can I finish with SF4500 or do I need to use the finishing glaze and then SF4500? This will be my first time polishing so I'm new at this. Thanks in advance!

Paul A.
12-19-2014, 12:30 PM
For what its worth, i generally use about 1 - 2 oz of polish per moderately sized vehicle.

EVOlved
12-19-2014, 12:39 PM
It should be more than enough.

Yes you could definitely finish with SF4500, although I don't think you will need it as WG FG is actually made by Menzerna and very close to the same.

Just remember you only need a few dots after priming the pad and doing your first section pass.

11Silverado
12-19-2014, 05:42 PM
Thanks for the responses. So I should get the same results using the finishing glaze or SF4500? I thought SF4500 was a finer polish than the finishing glaze.

conquistador
12-19-2014, 05:56 PM
Sf4500 and WG FG are too similar to see any real difference. I would skip the sf4500

Paul A.
12-20-2014, 10:36 AM
:iagree: I would pick one or the other but wouldn't waste time or money using both. Do 2 test spots, 1 for each of the 2 finish polishes you have and compare the results. Then go with the one you like better.

cardaddy
12-20-2014, 10:56 AM
Sf4500 and WG FG are too similar to see any real difference. I would skip the sf4500
:iagree: