PDA

View Full Version : Are the More Expensive Products Really Better?

Pages : [1] 2 3

tenblade2001
12-07-2014, 11:01 PM
I am relatively new to detailing. I started with CG products but several posters on different discussion threads have said CG products are not that good and I should switch to Wolfgang or Menzerna. There are so many lines i.e. Megs, Pinnacle, Blackfire, etc and opinions vary. Is the extra cost justified? I'd like to hear from people that have been detailing for a couple years and have tried various products vs. newbie enthusiast such as myself.
The car is a 2011 Alpine White M3 (hard paint from I am told).
I'm looking for best value (result/price) for the following:
(1) AIO
(2) Swirl/scratch remover (I was thinking Megs 105/205 vs. Menxerna/wolfgang vs. CG V34,36,38)
(3) Glaze- now I have CG, but looking at Prima Amigo
(4) Tire and Trim (using CG Hyper G6 and VRP). I like the very dark, shiny i.e. wet look. I've read mixed reviews on
(5) Quick Detail- Currently using CG V7, and love it. a bit on the pricey side.
(6) Liquid wax- Currently using CG butterwet wax. I've read good things about Colinite but open to others.
(7) paste wax- open to suggestions
(8) I have not used IronX but considering it.thoughts?

I really would appreciate input from experienced detailers.thanks

wdmaccord
12-07-2014, 11:25 PM
Like a lot of things, some of CG's products actually work very well for the price. I've had good luck with Leather Cleaner, Leather Conditioner, and Fabric Clean. I bought some Lightning Fast to try as well, but not til spring. Duragloss is another brand that is low priced but many products are top notch. I use the DG901, Rinseless wash w/ Aquawax, and Aquawax.

Some suggestions for your questions:
1) I would try Wolfgang Uber AIO