PDA

View Full Version : Did I get the right pads?

OCD Detailing
12-05-2014, 10:41 PM
I bought the LC Hybrid 5" pads during the Christmas sale. It's my first time ordering these pads. We have a Rupes 21 and Duetto both with 5" backing plates. Are these pads correct for this backing plate? The pad size itself looks big enough but the hook and loop area on the pad is a lot small than on the BP.

Thank you

Setec Astronomy
12-05-2014, 10:54 PM
How do you have the same size backing plate on both the 21 and the Duetto?

OCD Detailing
12-05-2014, 11:05 PM
How do you have the same size backing plate on both the 21 and the Duetto?

I changed the BP to a 5" on the 21.

Setec Astronomy
12-05-2014, 11:13 PM
Oh, sorry, for some reason I thought the Duetto had a smaller backing plate than the 15. The product pages say this:

The Rupes LHR 15ES utilizes a 5 inch hook and loop backing plate designed to accommodate 5.5 inch and 6 inch pads

The Rupes LHR 12E Duetto includes a 5 inch backing plate designed to be used with 5.5 and 6 inch pads.

The 5" hybrid pads say this:

The backing material on each pad is 4 inch, which makes it self-centering on the Flex XC3401 VRG Orbital Polisher equipped with the Changeable Backing Plate System. With all other applications, a 3.5 to 3 3/4 inch backing plate is suitable.

I think the pads you meant to buy are the HD Orbital pads:

Lake Country 6 Inch HD Orbital Foam Pads were designed for the Rupes LHR 15ES Big Foot Random Orbital Polisher.

Lake Country HD Orbital 6 Inch Foam Pads (http://www.autogeek.net/6-inch-lake-country-hd-rupes-pads.html)

hilld
12-05-2014, 11:15 PM
I had asked this question to Nick when buying the pads and he told me I needed a 4" BP for the 5" Hybrid pads.

OCD Detailing
12-05-2014, 11:18 PM
Oh, sorry, for some reason I thought the Duetto had a smaller backing plate than the 15. The product pages say this: