PDA

View Full Version : Paint Care Question???

CJM
11-20-2014, 04:53 PM
Hello all,
Carson, Texas
This is my first time to post.
I recently got my new Porter Cable 7424xp. My product of choice is Mothers. I purchased at same time their professional line (#81232, #81132, #82332, #83432.) I have done a complete seven step process to my Sister in laws new mustang.
1. clay bar
2. heavy compound
3. rubbing compound
4. polish
5. glaze
6. seal (chemical guys jet seal)
7. wax
The car looks amazing but it took two full days to finish.
One of these days I will do my own two cars. I realize you don't need to do all seven steps every time. I have two Questions.
1. How many times can you use the compounds before you burn through the clear coat of todays newer paints.
2. I researched some of the all-in-one waxes, to save time of coarse. All though I feel that you get a better result when doing them one at a time. Any info or product recemendations that I should try would be great.

MarkD51
11-20-2014, 05:42 PM
Hello and welcome to the forum.
Do stick around, and perhaps firstly concentrate on absorbing as much of Mike Phillip's tutorials and how to's as you can.

Many, and myself might say and ask if it was truly necessary and needed to use heavier compounds and polishes on what you state was a new car?

Your general rule of thumb will always be to use the least agressive methods and products to get the job done correcting the paint.

Mike and others will advise to always do a test spot. See what works, and to then simply repeat this same process upon the rest of the vehicle.

That if it should be found that a milder finishing polish is accomplishing the task, then you're good, and have saved yourself from unnecessarily removing more of the precious paint layer.