PDA

View Full Version : 06 G35 Oxidation - What's needed?

Pages : [1] 2

vertico
11-17-2014, 11:51 AM
I have a 2006 Infiniti G35 that oddly has medium oxidation on one side of the hood and along both A pillars. The rest of the car is in pretty good condition but with faint swirls.

I am new to paint care but do know that I am going to need a DA.

Can you point me into the right direction as to what pads/compounds/polishes/sealants or waxes that I should use to restore my oxidized panels and what to use on the remainder of the car?

I am mechanically inclined just a bit confused on what to use and when.
I've looked through some of the sticky's but can't seem to locate any solid info on removing oxidation with a DA so any help or advise is greatly appreciated.

Thank You!

cardaddy
11-17-2014, 01:05 PM
:welcome: to AGO! :welcome:

First, if you're close to another member you might be able to get some up close, and personal help. :dblthumb2:

As you can see in my avatar, I have a 06 G35 as well. :D

Oxidation isn't a problem for any DA. Although it's odd that you have it. May be some sort of solvent based product that got wiped/smeared on the area you are having problems with perhaps?

I'm thinking it may actually be some sort of airborne contamination that you picked up while driving, being as it's on only one side of the hood AND the A-pillars. :dunno:

All of the INFINITI paints are base/clear coat so that's the good news. The bad news is it's not the hardest paint out there. In fact, my red one is so darned soft it you friggin' LOOK at it funny it'll swirl!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :eek:

When you say "faint swirls" that makes me think how mine looks after I've spent 3 days buffing and sealing it then washed it ONCE. I've actually never seen a G35 with "faint swirls", moreover they are generally a swirled mess. ;)

Now if you have a metallic color (which MOST are) they hide swirls better. :xyxthumbs:

So.... first I guess we talk about washing.