PDA

View Full Version : How to pick a brand

Pages : [1] 2 3

superdave99gt
11-09-2014, 11:51 AM
Ok so I am decent at cleaning, polishing, etc but nothing like the guys on auto geek.

My question is, how do you guys know what brand or product to use? I understand the aggressiveness of each but is it like some people love fords and some Chevys and some like pinnacle and some meg or 3m? I look in the online store and am a little blown away on what I should use or how to pick. I'm just the home auto enthusiast and none of my vehicles are black. Lol

Also, on a side note, is there a reason that auto geek doesn't carry Adams? I ask because I live in co and my neighbor is friends with Adam himself and he always says let him know if I need anything but I'm skeptical since it's not carried by ag

Thanks

rebanee
11-09-2014, 11:57 AM
Overwhelming isn't it? For me I'm just a layman wanting to care for his car. I decided to select the most popular brands, and review each of any available review about the product. I also put into consideration my available budget for a particular project. I narrowed my search Optimum, Meguiar's, Chemical Guys and DP.

Good luck.

Ryan509
11-09-2014, 12:06 PM
As mike phillips says, KISS (Keep it simple simon) I was overwhelmed at first to. Blackfire/pinnacle/menzerna/Meguairs/Wolfgang compound/polish all do the same thing essentially. but can have different effects on different kinds of paint. They also have different prices. I've personally only used Menzerna FG400/SF4000 & i'm happy with it. Has a very long work time and great cut/finish. I've even used FG400 as a 1 step. I know others will give you more of an insight towards the other products but if your just a hobbiest, in my eyes find a product you like and stick with it.

Cheap price and good product-Meguairs
Tad higher price and exceptionally good product- Menzerna or Blackfire

SYMAWD
11-09-2014, 12:11 PM