PDA

View Full Version : Do some polishes clean up easier than others?

mdreibelbis
10-27-2014, 07:22 AM
I just completed my second polishing session using a PC DA last weekend. The first time I did my car was about a year ago using BF TPnS. It was a great learning experience and the car looked awesome when done. My biggest problem (I think) was not cleaning the pads well enough during the process - I used three pads for the car and they were pretty well saturated with product at the end. I don't think I used too much product as I studied numerous how-to videos (and lurked here for a year reading many posts from you people!) and was very careful as I worked.

Cleaning the pads when I was done was a total mess. I had them soaking in a bucket with soapy water and then got to work on them - squeezing them and rinsing them over and over as the blue goop came out a little at a time. It took forever and at the end I decided if I'm only going to polish my car once a year I would just buy new pads every year and not go through this process again so I threw them away!

Fast forward to this year. I used new pads and Meguairs 205 to polish the car - again using three pads for the entire process. I thought I would at least try to clean them so I soaked the pads in a bucket of soapy water however it only took a couple times squeezing/rinsing them until I was getting clear water coming out and they seemed to be clean!

So - my question is this - is the M205 an easier product to clean up when compared to TPnS, or did I do something different that caused them to be easier to clean?

Niblick
10-27-2014, 07:33 AM
polishes are all different, so inevitably some will dissolve better in water than others. so the answer is yes

RottenII
10-27-2014, 07:36 AM
Just from my own limited experience but I used some 3M compound that washed out of the pads easily. TP&S took a lot more time. BFWD is brutal trying to get out of the pads. I attribute this to the "sealant" part of the latter two?