PDA

View Full Version : Why NOT dry with a cheap chamois?

Jetspeed
10-25-2014, 03:52 PM
I have been using "The Absorber" chamois for the last 20+ years for car drying. It seems you all like using microfiber drying cloths like the Guzzler for drying. Two questions:

1. Why not a simple chamois like I have been using??
2. Do you wring-out the Guzzler like a regular chamois when full of water or do you use a new, dry Guzzler?

I use leaf-blower to dry my cars and follow-up with my cheap Absorber. Why should I use microfiber drying cloths??

Thanks.

allenk4
10-25-2014, 04:09 PM
As long as the surface of the paint is "Surgically Clean", you can use whatever you want to dry it

For me, this would require washing inside the garage, so that no contaminants can land on the car between the washing and drying steps

I also usually find some small amount of dirt on my drying towel in the form of black smear(s). This contamination is usually picked up from a piece of rubber trim or a section of molding that trapped some small amount of dirt. To me, this is an indication that my wash process does NOT reliably yield a "Surgically Clean" surface

When you dry, is your Absorber perfectly clean at the end of the process?

Because of this; I want to do everything I can to make sure that the residual dirt I missed spends as little time in contact with the surface of the paint during the drying process

I seek to limit this surface contact by using microfiber towels that are designed to trap and hold particulate and water. I use both waffle weave and longer nap MF towels. The WW have small "pockets" that provide a space for the dirt to get trapped in. The longer nap MF reaches into seams and cracks around trim and the increased surface area, again, provides somewhere for the dirt to go