PDA

View Full Version : Leather Steering Wheel Care

Pages : [1] 2

Drifty
10-13-2014, 11:07 AM
Hello everybody, nice place, congrats!
Have a question, hope to get some usefull tips. Some days ago bought a new smooth leather dished steering wheel (Sparco-made), but I'm new to this kind of leather - it feels quite dry and soft, nothing to do with the leather of former steering wheels I've had. To be sincere it gave me the impression to be somehow dehydrated and to prepare the leather for some serious track use I used some leather conditioner (Ma-fra Charme Leather Nutrient), which previously gave me some excellent results with the seats of the car and other leather products...Lately searching in internet I found some quite reputable car-detailers warning against the use of all kind of leather conditioners on steering wheels because of possible "delamination" - peeling of some protective layer of the steering wheels causing some serious damage to it...
Now I feel a little scared of having done some irreparable damage to my new steering wheel, its leather feels a little softer now (originally it was very dry for a new product), but its colour has darkened a little. Would be highly appreciated if anyone who has experience with this kind of "granny soft" leather give me some tips of how to care about it (if any care is possible at all). Thanks in advance and excuse me for my english. Regards!
This is the same wheel as the one I bought:
https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&docid=tCHF5F5IftdQWM&tbnid=NQ9lM5v_SwSBxM:&ved=0CAUQjhw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.rallysportdirect.com%2FSparco-Steering-Wheel-345-Black-Leather&ei=Pvs7VI_4I8mPPYuNgYgJ&bvm=bv.77161500,d.bGQ&psig=AFQjCNF32xNHBMTaOO8veROLd4UoJRlKMA&ust=1413303448348794

Belair
10-13-2014, 11:11 AM
What does the maker of the steering wheel recommend for maintenance?

Drifty
10-13-2014, 11:26 AM