PDA

View Full Version : Newbie detailer questions

bws
10-09-2014, 06:23 PM
I'm new to detailing within the last year and I'm about to do a winter detail on my daily driver. I'll list the steps I follow below and the questions I have.

- Sonax for wheels
- 2 Microfiber wash mits
- Two bucket wash with Megs Gold class wash
- Dry w/ waffle weave microfiber
- Wheel Wax Ultimate (1st time using)
- CarPro PERL Coat Plastic & Rubber Protectant (1st time using)
- CLAY MAGIC (FINE BLUE)
- Meguiar's NXT 2.0 Wax

I don't have any swirling but I have a few light scratches I'd like to correct.

I'd like to add a polish step to my process but I'm not sure where to start with that. What tool should I start with? (Porter Cable)

Is there a more aggressive clay I can be using?

I don't feel like the Megs Gold class wash gives me a high lather wash. Any suggestions there?

Are there any other steps I should be doing that I don't have?

I'll add some pics tomorrow when its light out.

Thanks for any help.

Eandras
10-09-2014, 06:33 PM
Ok you need to adjust some of your process.

Sonax the wheels and
2 Wash BM with wash mitt
Clay the vehicle with a detailing spray or left over clean washing material
When finish you may or may not want to wash the vehicle to start with a clean slate.
Dry vehicle with a waffle weave towel can add detail spray to use as a drying aid.
Now is where you can add the polishing step. If you have a PC da you will be able to do most of your correction. Work product/pad combo to achieve the results wanted. Do a panel at a time and do an IPA wipe down as you go on the polished panel

Once you have this complete apply a sealant and a wax to taste. You can finish the wheel coatings at any time after the 2 nd wash or clay

Also introduce yourself in the newbie section. Do searches when you have a question. There are a lot of answers that are available. Also remember the only stupid question is the question not asked

bws
10-09-2014, 07:02 PM