PDA

View Full Version : Newb in need of serious help

Lang
10-06-2014, 09:29 PM
There is A LOT of information here, almost overwhelming. I am a complete beginner so bare with me. I have 2 vehicles which need attention, 2001 F-350 (white) and 2015 Acura A4 (black). My truck is a DD and goes to construction sites. The Acura is the wife's and is her DD. Both are parked outside currently.

Now as far as I have read/understand I need to first wash (strip wax/contaminants), dry, clay bar, paint cleaner, seal/wax. Then use a wax safe wash until next wax/sealer. This is what I have found, and what I need help with:

Washing mit: Suggestions appreciated

Stripper: Chemical Guys Citrus

Drying: Any shammy?

Clay bar: Mothers?

Paint cleansers: Here is really confusing. Car polish?

Sealer or Wax: I have read on here some just use a sealer, some use both together. Blackfire Crystal Sealer?

Aluminum Wheels: Unilume, then sealer or wax?

Tires: Suggestions appreciated.

Maintenance wash: CG Mr. Pink

My truck really needs a paint job, but willing to make it shine best I can till I sell it or get it re-painted. Hers is brand new. Any and all suggestions are welcome! Again, I am a beginner, and will be doing this all by hand.

Thanks,
Lang

wdmaccord
10-06-2014, 11:20 PM
First, no need to dry between strip wash and clay.

Mitt: get the 3 pack of MF mitts here on AG. One for stripping/decon, one for wheels, and one for paint (maintenance washes).

Drying towels: Cobra Supreme Guzzler - get them now on BOGO!

Compound/Polish: Get a bottle each of Meguiars Ultimate compound and Ultimate polish (or M205). Best 1-2 combo just starting out.

Sealant: If you like Blackfire, get Wet Diamond All Finish Paint Protection and Crystal Seal. WD first, let cure 12-24 hours, then 2 coats of CS 2-3 hours apart.

Tires: Tuf Shine Tire Cleaner or Meguiars All Purpose Cleaner (undiluted). Get the Tuf Shine tire brush too.

Tire Dressing: I like Blackfire Total Eclipse Tire Gel