PDA

View Full Version : Big foot 21 question!

Hpkazan
09-17-2014, 11:41 AM
Hey guys, first post here.

I got some questions about the Rupes Bigfoot.

I have zero experience with those new DA's.

I detail cars in a dealership and I want to go away from the big 'ole Dewalts rotary etc. I want my own polisher and at same time embrace new technology.

My question is , if I get the big gun, the 21, how do I deal with small panels and gaps ? Can I change the backing plate on the fly to a smaller one like I would with a rotary ?

If not, then I must buy the small rupes along with it? That would cost near 1000$ already..

Anyway thanks guys !

haris300
09-17-2014, 12:55 PM
For small panels, bumpers, pillars, etc, it helps to have something like a Griot's Garage 3 inch mini-polisher or another cheap DA like a Porter Cable 7424 with a 3 inch backing plate. It also comes in handy for restoring headlights! A worthy investment if you ask me. Makes life a lot easy. The Rupes minis are great but if you're doing production work at a dealership, you can get by with something cheaper.

Mike Phillips
09-17-2014, 01:05 PM
For doing production work at a dealership and trying to transition away from a rotary buffer, I'd go with a Flex 3401. Tons of power, forced rotation/oscillation and lots of pad options.

Just be sure to also get a quality compound, polish and cleaner/wax. Don't try to use cheap stuff with DA Polishers of any style as you'll simply move away from putting holograms into paint and into putting DA Haze into paint.

:)

trekkeruss
09-17-2014, 01:14 PM
I'd go with a Flex 3401. Tons of power, forced rotation/oscillation and lots of pad options.

And for those areas too small/awkward for the 3401, (I assume) the new Flex that is going to be unveiled at SEMA. :xyxthumbs:

Hpkazan
09-17-2014, 01:31 PM
Wow thanks for the quick replies guys! :)