PDA

View Full Version : Armor all butter smooth wax question

Pages : [1] 2

buddy01
08-29-2014, 10:49 AM
I have a free bottle of this, and I know armor all is crap, but would it be horrible to try? I have never waxed or anything to my truck, only gave it a bath. I'm still a noob to detailing so I'm learning all before I buy my big detailing purchase of machines and sealants/waxes. So since my truck is filthy I was going wash it today and then just throw this armor all wax on after, but one didn't know of it'll harm truck and two didn't know if it's bad to put a wax on when I'm not claying or anything.

jamesboyy
08-29-2014, 10:57 AM
I doubt if it will harm your paintwork though not claying before adding a LSP will shorten the three to five week wax life span though tape off all plastic parts/ or avoid them as much as you can then place a little bit on the applicator and go to town

JHL88
08-29-2014, 10:59 AM
You're better off going to wal mart and buying a bottle/tub of meguiars ultimate paste wax or liquid wax or Mothers Sealant.

Setec Astronomy
08-29-2014, 10:59 AM
I'm not familiar with that product. I am sure a lot of purists will disagree, but go ahead and do it. It won't harm anything, and it will surely be better than nothing. Just be careful not to get it on your black/textured trim, because usually OTC products like that will stain it and it will be difficult to get off.

As far as not claying before hand, I can hear the hue and cry already, but if you apply your wax without claying, you'll simply be doing what 80-90% of OTC users do. Go ahead and get 'er done.

PS I see you are in NJ--whereabouts?

buddy01
08-29-2014, 11:05 AM
Sorry still new what's LSP mean?

So you think it'll be a waste to put the wax on?

Setec Astronomy
08-29-2014, 11:06 AM
LSP= Last Step Product = wax

Where in NJ are you?

allenk4
08-29-2014, 11:09 AM
You mentioned that you are in the learning stages...

Why not do it correctly from the start?