PDA

View Full Version : Rotary Use from Novices/Newbies

ScottB
08-05-2007, 09:18 AM
Alot of the time I am asked to discuss the rotaries benefits and detractions. I do so based upon the professional versus the hobbist. Why ?? Because practice makes perfect and a hobbist using once a year on own car is not likely the best candidate for circular cutting.

So for any novice or hobbist that chose to upgrade to rotary, please tell what went right and what went wrong. Do you still use machine ?? Did you damage or cut the paint ?? Again not really looking for professional detailers here as youve advanced, but those inexperienced with true first time use.

Nica
08-05-2007, 10:19 AM
Well I think I fit your description killr as I'm still learning the rotary.

Well when I first started using the rotary, the rotary was hopping around and I felt I was fighting with it to make it go the direction I wanted it to go. I did the hood of my old Jeep and that was the first experiance I had with the rotary. Now the hood went well but there was one part that the edge of the pad caught an edge of the hood. Only took seconds and it didn't burn through the paint but you can see a faint mark where the paint is now thin. I didn't know then but at all edges of panels the paint is thin compared to regular flat areas so the edge of the pad and speed of the rotary brough it down even more. Like I said I did't burn through it but you can see a dark smudge.

Since then I've been very and I mean very cautious with the rotary and the edges of the panels of the vehicle. The thing with the rotary is that you have to keep your attention on what the rotary is doing. Not like the PC (for example) that you can just let go and polish away and this is only my experiance but I found my self a little bored sitting at the same panel for minutes.

Here is a picutre of what I'm talking about, see that dark line...that's what I'm talking about.