PDA

View Full Version : Dirty Pad Diagnosis

asallwey
07-24-2014, 09:40 AM
Newbie here again. Due to travel and weather haven't put a pad to sheet metal yet. But as I keep reading here I come up with questions. So be nice!

You all talk about pads needing to be washed during a session, so:

+ How do you know this?
+ What needs to be washed out and why?
+ Does the pad start to drag because it is drying? If so, why not just put more compound, polish, wax, or whatever on and keep rolling.

Thanks!

trekkeruss
07-24-2014, 09:47 AM
Here ya go: http://www.autogeekonline.net/forum/how-articles/20135-how-clean-your-foam-pad-fly.html

Be sure to read the entire thread and not just the first post.

asallwey
07-24-2014, 10:04 AM
Dog-gone it! I read that! This stuff has me in overload!

jamesboyy
07-24-2014, 06:53 PM
first I would like to say its better to have multiples of the same pad that way you don't necessarily need to stop after polishing one or two panels, just place them in a bucket with all purpose cleaner with Velcro facing you with that said once you polished out at least two panels(lets say both front fenders) you will want to remove the pad off machine then add a few lines of dish soap, and massage out the polish residue under running water until the water from the pad is cleaner then just pat a general use microfiber towel on the pad to dry it slightly, that's how I go about my polishing pads(in a basic way) but there are many other ways of cleaning

EVOlved
07-24-2014, 08:52 PM
You will definitely want at least 3 of the same color pads and should have at least 2-3 types, to start to be easy if you want I'd go with 3 medium cut pads (usually orange) and 3 polishing pads (color varies a bit but green and white or black seem common). If you want to introduce a 3rd I'd go to a MF cutting pad.