PDA

View Full Version : Uber compound

Pages : [1] 2

kgj1119
07-23-2014, 06:36 PM
I'm a little new to this. Wondering how to use Wolfgang über compound with a PC and some lake county microfiber pads. I also have some orange, white, and blue lake county foam pads. After I'm done with the über. Do I have to use another step such as a swirl remover or is it ready for sealant? Thanks for the help

allenk4
07-23-2014, 06:57 PM
I would start with the "Detailing How To's" link at the top of the page.

It will help you establish a firm foundation to build on.

Mike Phillips videos are excellent.

mwoolfso
07-23-2014, 07:00 PM
You would use the Uber compound with a cutting pad (orange), sometimes (white) depending on the circumstances and you wish to break from tradition.

The answer to your question though is to perform the process on a test spot.

In general after a compound you would need a less aggressive finishing polish, like Wolfgang Finishing Glaze. For this step you would use a polishing pad.

kgj1119
07-23-2014, 07:54 PM
Great. Thanks Can I still use a microfiber pad or do you think if get better results with the foam?

allenk4
07-23-2014, 07:58 PM
Great. Thanks Can I still use a microfiber pad or do you think if get better results with the foam?

Read what Mike Phillips says about doing a proper Test Spot to determine the Least Aggressive Method that will get the results you are looking for while removing as little clear coat as possible.

RobertJ34
07-23-2014, 09:01 PM
agreed^^ go least aggressive, your method above is pretty aggressive, which is fine if needed..but try least aggressive and see if those results are good enough for you.

As far as MF vs foam pad for better results--I have read many people will use MF (if needed for bad defects) then follow up with foam pad and polish for a nice finish.

Ncs0816
07-25-2014, 05:19 AM
Just cross your fingers and pray it works

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

5jjt
07-25-2014, 08:50 PM