PDA

View Full Version : Ceriglass + CarPro Rayon Pads = spiro scratches?

goums
07-21-2014, 09:46 PM
Hello All,
Long time lurker and just recently joined the forums after my brand new Grand Cherokee had a glass mishap with a gas station window scrubber which left two very visible horizontal scratches right in the drivers line of sight.

I saw the excellent reviews of Ceriglass and figured it was worth a shot, I am by no means a complete novice when it comes to DA's and buffing and with everyone raving about the CarPro rayon pads I thought it would be a no brainer. Ordered up the Ceriglass repair kit from AG that comes with the 3" pads, backing plate and drill attachment and went to work.

Seeing most of the reviews stated that a rotary works much better and there was an included drill attachment I figured what the hey and plugged it into my trusty Dewalt 20v, prepped the windshield (cleaner, claybar, cleaner) and settled in with the drill and my trusty spray bottle of distilled water, making sure to keep the surface wet and pressure constant as I went. (Yes I know that a drill is not a great substitute for a real rotary, but it maxes out at 2,000rpm and figured it would be close enough for what I was doing)

Everything was going well, the scratches were going away a lot faster than I expected they would and I was doing a final wipe down when I noticed that along the periphery of my work area that the pad had been leaving "spirograph" lines, like those in the attached illustration (sorry, light was fading when I gave up)
http://i.imgur.com/RQlcI0w.jpg

Now, as far as I can tell I wasn't doing anything that would have been outside of normal on the edges of my work area and the pads went straight from the plastic bag they came in to the backing plate on the drill, so I gave it up to being a fluke and figured I'd open the second pad to try and get rid of the scratches the first one left.... same deal. =/ Now I'm stumped!