PDA

View Full Version : product application procedure

tunakiller
06-27-2014, 09:29 AM
Hello all. I'm no "Mike Phillips" but I'm not a complete noob.
consequently, I have some questions. I may have bitten off more than I needed.
so, I'm off for the next few days, garage is all mine and I'm going to do a total paint correction process, swirl removal etc.

so, I am wondering, with your "sage advise" what products to use, if at all, and in what order.

I"ll skip the details on my paint correction process. I have that down.
so after I have washed, clayed and completed my paint correction process, what are your recommendations, given the products' I'll list now.

products include:

Dodo prime pre wax cleaner
chemical guys ez glaze
wolfgang concours glaze (3.0)
dp poli coat sealant
klasse sealant (KSG)
meg's 21
mothers California carnauba cleaner wax
mothers California synthetic wax

historically (and this time) I use the Meg's twins (105/205) for paint correction and various LC pads in the appropriate densities.
I generally get a lot of "dust" from the twins, so I wash and dry afterwards.

I have been putting on the cg ez crème glaze, followed by KSG, and after a 12 hour cure time for the KSG, applying the mothers carnauba by hand.
I find I'm not really impressed with the results.

what are your opinions? suggestions? use this/vice that?
looking forward to your feedback.

thanks!
rob
Feed back please

cleanmycorolla
06-27-2014, 09:49 AM
If you're getting dusting from you polishes and compunds, you're most likely using too much product.

As for using what you have, IMO, Wolfgang is the standout among them and use that.

refreshauto
06-27-2014, 09:49 AM
i have not used any of the products you have on your list. i tend to use the entire Wolfgang line up from he Uber Compound down the the Deep Gloss Paint Sealant. i also use the Auto Finesse Spirit to top the Deep Gloss Paint Sealant and the results are real nice IMO