PDA

View Full Version : New Guy Problem

Pages : [1] 2

thenewguy
06-19-2014, 09:17 AM
Hey everyone,

I'm brand new to hand cleaning my car. I recently purchased a shiny new Subaru BRZ and read online that you really shouldn't be taking it through the car wash due to damage it can cause to the paint.

A few weeks ago I tried my first Optimum No Rinse 2-Bucket wash. I watched a bunch of youtube videos, read some articles and felt comfortable doing it. It seemed to go well enough and I didn't notice any problems. Spurred on by that, I decided to add Optimum Wax this time after cleaning it. Here's where it went south...

I had the car outside initially, but it was 80 degrees out, no clouds with the sun hammering down. By the time I was done with the wash I just couldn't stand to be out there anymore, so I took it into the garage to apply the wax. It was only after I had taken the car back out again that I realized I left streaks like the one attached in a bunch of places on the car.

Two questions. One, does anyone know if there's a good way to fix those streaks, or do I simply have to wait for the wax to wear off? Second, can someone give me pointers as to what I did wrong to cause them and how to avoid them in the future?

Thanks for helping the new guy!

Setec Astronomy
06-19-2014, 09:20 AM
I'm not really seeing what you are talking about--do you mean the little streaks on the black window trim?

thenewguy
06-19-2014, 09:27 AM
Well, it's right in the middle of the frame actually. The image quality made it difficult to catch, but easy to see with the eye. It basically looks like water smears that just don't evaporate.

Justin at Final Inspection
06-19-2014, 09:27 AM
From the sounds of it the paint wasn't cool enough when you applied the wax.

cleanmycorolla
06-19-2014, 09:35 AM
You have to work on paint that's cool to the touch, it was probably really hot after baking in the sun.

thenewguy
06-19-2014, 09:40 AM