PDA

View Full Version : Have a scratch how to fix?

buddy01
06-09-2014, 01:16 PM
So I found this scratch recently on my truck and I need to see if its fixable by detailing. I have other scratches like this in other spots that are not down to bare metal or anything. Now with this scratch in the pic when I put my nail over it, it does not get stuck on anything but you can hear the difference in sound from the nonscratched area to that area. I was told rubbing compound may do the trick. Now I am not a detail expert I am trying to learn so if rubbing compound works, what process do I do after that in that area to protect the clear coat?

http://i1104.photobucket.com/albums/h330/bonne01/scratch_zps7ff8624e.jpg (http://s1104.photobucket.com/user/bonne01/media/scratch_zps7ff8624e.jpg.html)

refreshauto
06-09-2014, 01:26 PM
i had something like that recently on my truck, i used Wolfgang Uber Compound with my Flex 3401 with 5" orange LC hybrid pad. it took it right out. i cant say if the rubbing compound will take it out for sure since i have never used it, but if you have a DA with the right pad and compound that should do the trick

buddy01
06-09-2014, 01:42 PM
Sadly I have no DA or anything, so this would be done by hand. Is doing it by hand possible? I am going to want to purchase a DA soon, trying to learn everything then make the purchase.

jamesboyy
06-09-2014, 02:07 PM
I would take a little compound and see if would remove it cause it seems like the clear coat was damage only though if that dont help then you may have to do touch up

JACdetailing
06-09-2014, 02:09 PM
Yes it can be done by hand. Purchase Megs Ultimate Compound. It is okay for use by hand, cheap, and can be easily found OTC. It should finish out well enough for your satisfaction as well.

buddy01
06-09-2014, 02:12 PM
Ok, after the compound is there any other detailing I need to do to that area? If so please list!

refreshauto
06-09-2014, 02:36 PM