PDA

View Full Version : Wolfgang 3.0

raswank
06-02-2014, 09:21 AM
Okay this is my first time really using any swirl removers and glazes. I just did the hood of my Jetta it is red. Used the orange pad to apply the 3.0 Swirl remover, then the blue pad to apply the finishing glaze. All looks good, applied one coat of wax until I get my blackfire sealant in. Here is the question all this was done first thing this morning in the shade, and like I said it looked great. Now I go out and take a drive and park the car in the sun. All the swirls are still there. So first what setting should I have the PC 7424 at to apply both? And I guess maybe I did not use enough downward pressure. Do you apply a good amount of pressure when you do it?

cleanmycorolla
06-02-2014, 09:39 AM
Did you do a test spot before doing all of this? Also, it's not really a glaze. It's a fine polish. Try a white or black pad perhaps. Blue might be too soft.

Either way do test spots, that way you'll avoid doing an entire panel and having to redo it. :)

raswank
06-02-2014, 10:00 AM
I just did the trunk after watching the video on here and did everything they said, still have swirls. So either I need a different pad color or I don't know what.

dpk20x
06-02-2014, 10:23 AM
Try orange pad with the total swirl remover again. Use more pressure and a slower arm speed this time around. If that doesn't work you're gonna need to try a more aggressive compound.

mwoolfso
06-02-2014, 10:24 AM
My $0.02....

1. Illustrate the detailing process used prior to the polishing step.
2. What size and type of pads are you using?
3. Jetta's and VW's in general usually have extremely hard paint. If you are sure they are swirls then help me understand if they are "new" swirls or previously identified (old) swirls.

For WGTSR, you will need speed 5-6 and for the WGFG you would be in the 3-4 area.