PDA

View Full Version : I just washed all my Detailing Towels with Fabric Softner

JPW
06-01-2014, 08:15 PM
I just messed up. I have a number of high-end micro fiber towels and cotton towels. I wanted to get a "clean slate" with all of them so I went to wash them. I've never used fabric softner on them before because of concerns around swirl marks or losing the absorption in the MF towels. Well, I wasn't paying attention and what I thought was detergent was actually fabric softner and I put a rather large amount in the load. Because I thought it was detergent it was the only thing I put in the load.

What should I do now? Should I just scrap them and buy new all new towels to be safe or should I maybe wash them a few times with only water to try and rinse them free and then come back with detergent and vinegar? I could care less about absorption, but I don't want to risk the chance of causing any swirl marks or light scratches.

Belair
06-01-2014, 08:23 PM
[QUOTE=JPW;1111683]...should I maybe wash them a few times with only water to try and rinse them free and then come back with detergent and vinegar?... /QUOTE]

I'd do that, & keep the cotton separate from the MF. But if you want to eliminate all doubt then replace them with new & chalk it up to experience; you WILL be more attentive next time, guaranteed.

Setec Astronomy
06-01-2014, 08:27 PM
Just wash them with a bunch of detergent and see how they come out. I don't see how softener is going to make them scratch your paint. You may have affected the absorbency, but you didn't ruin the towels.

conman1395
06-01-2014, 08:41 PM
Presoak in an APC, then wash with detergent and vinegar.

dad07
06-01-2014, 08:41 PM
Just wash them with a bunch of detergent and see how they come out. I don't see how softener is going to make them scratch your paint. You may have affected the absorbency, but you didn't ruin the towels.

:iagree: Just rewash the towels with vinegar in the final rinse.......they will be just fine.

JPW