PDA

View Full Version : New Black car questions

Pages : [1] 2

Fly5465
05-31-2014, 07:44 AM
Hey all, I just bought a new black car and have some questions. First let me say I'm not 100% new to detailing but I am far from a pro as I'm still learning. I have a Groit's polisher and pads. Also have some M105, M205 and Collinite wax.

Anyway, my new car was at the dealer lot for a while and of course they don't care how they washed it. Lets just say it needs paint correction

So I'm going to have it professionally polished at a very reputable shop here in Arizona. They aren't cheap, but I want it perfect to start with, and I'm know they can do much better than I can. They are going to put an "Acrylic Sealant" on it.

This car is only a weekend toy and will always be garage when not driven. But it still gets somewhat dusty in the garage (its Arizona...dang dust!)

I'm looking for suggestions on products to keep it clean between washing. Here are my questions... Also looking for suggestions on keep a black car looking great.

1) whats best to dust it off? Detail spray and Microfiber?
2) maybe a "California Duster" or "Kozak" cloth?
3) after washing, what to dry it with? Chamois or Microfiber towel?
4) also, can I or should I apply Collinite 845, over the Acrylic sealant, maybe every 4~6 weeks?

Thanks. Fairly new to black cars.. Here is a picture of it

http://i194.photobucket.com/albums/z112/fly5465/Miata/2013/IMG_5320s_zps2b24d0d7.jpg

frankprozzoly
05-31-2014, 07:53 AM
Check out junkman 2000 on YouTube showing how to properly use the CA duster and detail spray. From all that I've read, yes you can wax over the sealant. Sealant always goes on first

Fly5465
05-31-2014, 07:01 PM
Check out junkman 2000 on YouTube showing how to properly use the CA duster and detail spray. From all that I've read, yes you can wax over the sealant. Sealant always goes on first