PDA

View Full Version : IPA wipedown necessary?

Pages : [1] 2

rman
05-31-2014, 01:32 AM
I'm very new to detailing and do this as a hobby on my own cars. Ive been doing a little bit of research and haven't found a clear answer. I plan on using Meguiars UC and UP followed by WGDGPS 3.0. My question is should I do an IPA wipe down after the UP? Will this help with the bonding process?

GettingStarted
05-31-2014, 01:38 AM
Yes, what the IPA will do is remove any polishing oils that are still residing on your paint ensuring that the sealant will bond only to the paint for maximum durability.

FUNX650
05-31-2014, 04:30 AM
I'm very new to detailing and do this as a hobby on my own cars. Ive been doing a little bit of research and haven't found a clear answer. I plan on using Meguiars UC and UP followed by WGDGPS 3.0. My question is should I do an IPA wipe down after the UP? Will this help with the bonding process?
Nowhere in the directions, instructions, or recommendations for the application of WGDGPS do I find that IPA should be used, prior to said application, to remove polishing oils from a vehicle's paint.

I'm a huge proponent of WGDGPS, and I never
have used IPA in conjunction with its application:
in no way, form, or fashion.

Bob

Angus
05-31-2014, 06:52 AM
I use Meg's UC and UP followed by WGDGPS on my daily driver with fantastic results. Since your new to the hobby I'd suggest skipping the IPA wipe and instead just give your car a quick wash to remove any leftover residue you may have missed before applying WGDGPS.

How are you going to apply UC and UP? By hand or with a machine?

Just02896
05-31-2014, 09:43 AM
Nowhere in the directions, instructions, or recommendations for the application of WGDGPS do I find that IPA should be used, prior to said application, to remove polishing oils from a vehicle's paint.

I'm a huge proponent of WGDGPS, and I never
have used IPA in conjunction with its application:
in no way, form, or fashion.

Bob