PDA

View Full Version : MF towels. Need help

cruzeeco2012
05-20-2014, 02:02 PM
I wash my microfiber towels with hot water, using the micro-restore mf detergent with the wash cycle on delicate, I don't use fabric softener or bleach, and I dry them on low heat with no dryer sheets. I work in a factory that deals with fiber glass, and I was told to wash my clothes with either fabric softener, dryer sheets, or tennis balls with the laundry soap. I do this everytime I wash my clothes. My question is, Based off my washing methods on how I wash my towels and clothes using the same wash machine, Do you think my towels are affected?. Would I have to buy new towels just to be safe, or is there any way I can safely get the possibly stuck fibers out of my towels without ruining them?.

wdmaccord
05-20-2014, 02:08 PM
I use the same machine and dryer for my MF as regular clothes. Never had any issues. I don't use fabric softener in the wash and rarely use bleach, so I don't have any worries about residues there. The dryer, I usually run on high heat while the MF towels are washing to help "burn off" any residues. If you want to be sure, you could wipe down the dryer drum with a 10-15% alcohol solution.

If you use fabric softener in the wash, I'm not sure the best way to remove residues. Maybe a rinse cycle with some vinegar? Hopefully some others have ideas.

JACdetailing
05-20-2014, 02:24 PM
I doubt that using the same washer machine that has previously had fabric softener will have much of an effect on it. The water:fabric softener ratio is probably far diluted, and I'm not sure if any residues would get stuck to the washer machines walls since it is water soluble and will be drained with the water. What I do to play it safe though, is whatever load was previously used, I'll use a double rinse cycle to ensure all fabric softener is washed away.