PDA

View Full Version : Newbie To Detailing - Need Products!

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

MemphisGrizz
05-19-2014, 08:23 PM
History: I own a 2009 Toyota FJ Cruiser and the color of the vehicle is "Brick". It's a maroonish color. I recently purchased a cheap Harbor Freight 7" polisher to to begin learning how to proper care for my vehicle: Here is the link to which polisher I purchase. 7 in. Variable Speed Polisher/Sander (http://www.harborfreight.com/7-in-variable-speed-polishersander-69474.html)

I know there is a lot of information on this website with products and such but I want to make sure I am purchasing the products I am in need of.

Description of my vehicle and what I plan to accomplish:
- Color: Brick
- Remove mild/medium swirls (previous owner used drive-thru car washes)
- Give it a good polish as well as a good wax.

So my question is, what pads will I need for this 7" polisher and what ALL products should I look into. Keep in mind I am a newbie, and I am in the learning process. I don't want to be a cheap ass but I am trying to save a little bit of cash as well.

Sorry if I am missing more information you guys need. If I am missing information, please ask me and I will answer!

Here is a photograph of the color of my paint.

refreshauto
05-19-2014, 09:09 PM
i have never used that machine, so i can give you any info on 7" pads, but i will recommend the following kit below

Wolfgang Porter Cable 7424 Swirl-Free Kit (http://www.autogeek.net/wolfgang-porter-cable-swirl-remover.html)

this is also a good microfiber kit for you to get started

Complete Microfiber Kit (http://www.autogeek.net/microfiber-towel-kit.html)

and last but not least pads, pads and more pads. at least 6 of each color

MemphisGrizz
05-20-2014, 03:00 AM
Thanks! I will look into that!

Firehouse Mike
05-20-2014, 03:05 AM
I am going to HIGHLY recommend the 6" DA instead of a rotary polisher.