PDA

View Full Version : Swirl mark removal

Bry
05-17-2014, 05:49 AM
Hi All, I want to get out these swirl marks, I don't have any experience with this at all. I tried using a black CC pad with
Meguiars Mirror Glaze #9 Swirl Remover 2.0 and it didn't seem to touch it.

What do you recommend I do? Feed back please

MikeC78
05-17-2014, 06:05 AM
I'm no expert, but you need a heavier polish and not a glaze. Since you like Meg's, try a 205 to start and see what you got, if that doesn't touch it, use the 105. IPA wipe, than follow up with your glaze and finally some sort of sealant.

skubasteve!
05-17-2014, 07:23 AM
What kind of vehicle? Are you using a machine or hand polishing? What products/pads do you have? Did you clay? Need many more details in order to help you out.

Just02896
05-17-2014, 07:31 AM
What kind of vehicle? Are you using a machine or hand polishing? What products/pads do you have? Did you clay? Need many more details in order to help you out.

^^^This^^^

Would be helpful to know what you have at your disposal.

Bry
05-17-2014, 08:17 AM
Thanks for the feedback.

I didn't clay the car. I used Iron-X, it is a Infiniti Malbec Black.
I washed the car and then used the Iron-X. Used the buffer with the black pad with the #9, I didn't use the XMT#3 thought it might be to harsh.

Equipment

7424 buffer
Orange, Black, White Pads
Pinnacle XMT #3
Meguiars Mirror Glaze #9 Swirl Remover 2.0

Bry
05-18-2014, 06:26 AM
I need some recommendations what to get for a pad, to remove the marks.

Anyone have suggestions on what Clay to use.

MattPersman
05-18-2014, 06:39 AM
In you our black pad a polishing pad? How many passes on your test spot? What is your arm speed like.

You need to fool around with a test spot first to try to get the correction you want.

Bry
05-18-2014, 07:14 AM
It is a Lake view CCS grey pad, polishing. I would say I am moving it back and forth pretty quick, I didn't want to overdue it.

SirFerret
05-18-2014, 07:20 AM